Stuff I Ate 2012.03.22

March 22, 2012

Other half of yesterday’s sweet potato with scrambled eggs.

image

Delish, as always, but I had to INHALE this and got a stomach ache. Eat s..l…o..w…l…y.

Big ass salad with prosciutto roll-ups.

image

My stash of quick-freezer-protein is a little scant at the moment so I had to get creative. Took a piece of prosciutto, folded it in half, and rolled it around a black olive. Prosciutto is thin for a reason. I wouldn’t fold it next time….just roll it up like a cigar. Or you could chop it and sprinkle it on top, but not me. I hate chopping prosciutto. Pain in the butt. Also had some brazil nuts and way too many pecans while I prepped salad. HANGRY!

Cabbage Egg Foo Young and a pile of broccoli.

image

This ‘lil dinner was inspired by Mel’s recipe here and this post by a person who is unknown and new to me. I think I probably found it on chowstalker and filed it away.

I basically just merged the two recipes to suit my liking and what I had in the kitchen. Except the green onions. 😦 I have no green onions so I used regular onion. Oh…..wait….I have green onions out in the veggie patch that survived winter. dangit! Next time.

It was….interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever had Egg Foo Young; the seasonings didn’t make sense to my tongue. Apparently, there are variations of the chinese five spice called for in the recipe. Maybe the one in my pantry is not the right one. And I feel like it needed some kind of sauce, but I couldn’t decide what that should taste like until I was finished.

Regardless, I liked the idea; just need to tweak the flavors. Thinking this will be a delicious freezer-breakfast. I needed something new…..got bored with my eggy bakes and I don’t do waffles these days.

Melted banana slices, cinnamon, wild blueberries, coconut milk. soooooooo good.

image

Still hungry. Yep. So I threw together these little raw cookie dough balls in approximately 47 seconds. Hit the spot. Finally. (Oh, and a glass of almond mylk. Because you can’t have cookie dough without milk, right?)

image

2 Responses to “Stuff I Ate 2012.03.22”

  1. Athena Says:

    melted banana? how do you make that?

    • Kim Says:

      Make banana slices from frozen or fresh banana. Heat until gooey. I’m a slave to the ‘wave so I nuke ’em for about 45 seconds; longer if frozen. That’s it!

      Add some cinnamon (maybe some honey) and it’s just as good as eating bananas foster. If you’re ambitious you can mush up the banana, but I like the gooey, sticky chunks.


Leave a Reply

