Cream of Broccoli Soup

January 3, 2011

It’s cleanse time! Yes, everyone’s jumping on the cleanse train, aren’t they? I did my first cleanse almost one year ago and it has changed my life. I’m much healthier today than I was a year ago, but I still have work to do. So it’s cleanse time again, baby.

I’m going for super simple this time around. I’ve had a year to learn, so I know what works for me. Unlike last year, there won’t be any complicated meals with tons of new recipes to learn. The breakdown:
Breakfast – high protein green smoothie
Lunch – big ass salad® with a healthy dose of protein
Dinner – pureed soup
gallons of green tea in between

I don’t know how long I’m going for this time. Three weeks? Four? We’ll play it by ear.

Soup of the Day – Cream of Broccoli

Adapted from The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen

This is a really great soup. It’s clean, super easy to make, and actually tastes very good. I eat this one all the time; no need to go on a cleanse! If you can have them, I bet this would taste amazing with some mushrooms.

1 – 2 T extra virgin olive oil
1 medium or 1/2 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped or pressed
1-1/2 t dried thyme
1 pound broccoli (if you’re a Costco shopper, that’s one of the small inner bags in the giant organic broccoli bag)
6 c chicken or vegetable stock
1 c almond flour
3/4 c coconut milk (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 c shredded carrots
lemon juice

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot. Add onions and saute until soft and translucent. Add garlic, thyme, broccoli, stock, and almond flour. Bring to a boil; cover and simmer about 25 minutes.

Using an immersion blender (or a regular blender in batches) puree until mostly smooth. Add coconut milk, salt, and pepper.

Spoon into bowls; top with shredded carrots, a splash of lemon, and a swirl of coconut milk. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Cream of Broccoli Soup”

  1. Athena Says:

    do you have a pressure cooker? It’s my favorite pot for cooking. It takes a little getting-used-to but it cuts cook time to a quarter or less. yummy!

  2. Kim Says:

    I do have a pressure cooker. It was a hand-me-down and is really small. Used it a few times to make beans when I was eating those. 🙂 The crockpot gets more love from me.


Leave a Reply

